Click Here to Watch Cricket Live Matches for Free!



Hockey;a team game played between two teams of eleven players each, using hooked sticks with which the players try to drive a small hard ball towards goals at opposite ends of a field. In North America it is called field hockey to distinguish it from ice hockey.

The roots of hockey are buried deep in antiquity. Historical records show that a crude form of the game was played in Egypt 4,000 years ago and in Ethiopia around 1,000BC, whilst an ancient form of the game was also played in Iran in around 2,000BC.

Currently,Lots of countries are playing hockey¬† but some countries are really good at hockey.Moreover,they are called “THE BIG SEVEN”

The concept of the Big Seven refers to seven countries that technically can, with a team filled with their very best players, beat each other on any day. There have been on recent times several questioning among some fans, who wonder whether Slovakia still belongs to this select group in the wake of their increasingly poor results at the World Championships. Seeing as their roster usually lacks most of its National Hockey League stars, the team does maintain its place in the Big Seven; it can however be said that the country lacks the depth that other six other big nations have.The Big Seven countries are Canada,Czech Republic,Finland,Russia,Slovakia,Sweden and United States of America.

Europe map of the ice hockey countries. Technically, Turkey, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan are not part of Europe; however, all of those countries, except Armenia, has a part of its territory included within the traditional boundaries of Europe. As for Armenia, it was included on this map in part because it is culturally close to Europe and in part because the other map didn’t allow an easy location of this small nation.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.